Intrecci – International Journal of Architectural Conservation and Restoration is promoted by SIRA, the Italian Scientific Association of the Professors and highly qualified scholars of Architectural Conservation/Restoration. The aim is to meet the new trends of scientific research in the field.

Summarizing the vision in three bullets: multidisciplinarity, internationalization, scientific writing.

The heading of the journal refers exactly to multidisciplinarity as a mandatory feature of applied and blue-sky research in built heritage conservation: innovation comes out from the exploration of the borders, practical problems require cooperation among disciplines to find effective and sustainable solutions. It has been the title of a series of seminars organised by our young researchers, and proudly we decided to turn that concept and that practice into the heading of a scientific journal.

Internationalization is a key point from an Italian perspective. Promoting an international journal published in two languages, SIRA does not give up its Italian roots, but aims at bringing Italian scientific debate about heritage conservation to intertwine with international debate, sharing the efforts towards contemporary issues, which are no longer national, but more and more global, if we understand cultural heritage as a factor for strong sustainability and resilience.

Last but not least, academia is more and more a global arena, and the adoption of up-to-date writing standards and broadcasting tools will contribute to the empowerment of our scientific sector.

Intrecci/Intertwinings is based on the platform Public Knowledge Project-Open Journal Systems, has an organization which reflects the SIRA structure and the commitment of the members, and above all a highly qualified international Scientific Committee, whose rich diversity reflects the program of the journal.




Stefano Della Torre

international scientific committee

Howayda Al-Harithy | American University of Beirut
Tor Broström | Uppsala University
Francesco Doglioni | già Università IUAV di Venezia
Donatella Fiorani | Sapienza Università di Roma
Fakher Kharrat | Ecole Nationale d’Architecture et d’Urbanisme de Tunis
Beatriz Mugayar Kühl | University of São Paulo
Alessandra Marino | Ministero della Cultura
Randall Mason | University of Pennsylvania
Costanza Miliani | Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche
Antonia Moropoulou | National Technical University of Athens
Stefano F. Musso | Università degli Studi di Genova
Valérie Nègre | Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne
Jorge Otero-Pailos | Columbia University
Teresa Patricio | International Council on Monuments and Sites
Pere Roca | Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Ana Pereira Roders | Delft University of Technology
Mario Santana-Quintero | Carleton University
Ruxandra-Iulia Stoica | The University of Edinburgh
Alessandra Vittorini | Ministero della Cultura

editorial board

Maria Teresa Campisi | Università degli Studi di Enna “Kore”
Eva Coïsson | Università degli Studi di Parma
Sara Di Resta | Università Iuav di Venezia
Marina Docci | Sapienza Università di Roma
Caterina Giannattasio | Università degli Studi di Cagliari
Maria Adriana Giusti | Politecnico di Torino
Pietro Matracchi | Università degli Studi di Firenze
Renata Picone | Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
Antonio Pugliano | Università degli Studi Roma Tre
Valentina Russo | Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
Emanuela Sorbo | Università Iuav di Venezia

editorial office

Nino Sulfaro | Università Mediterranea di Reggio Calabria

Zaira Barone | Università degli Studi di Palermo
Cristina Boniotti | Politecnico di Milano
Silvia Cutarelli | Sapienza Università di Roma
Chiara Mariotti | Università Politecnica delle Marche
Valentina Pintus | Università degli Studi di Cagliari
Stefania Pollone | Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
Lia Romano | Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
Leila Signorelli | Alma Mater Studiorum – Università di Bologna
Oana Tiganea | Politecnico di Milano
Monica Vargiu | Università degli Studi di Cagliari
Luigi Veronese | Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
Alessia Zampini | Alma Mater Studiorum – Università di Bologna

graphic & layout

Webpage Manager
Nino Sulfaro